Hong Kong


Overseas jockeys to ride on Champions Day

Permission has been granted for the following overseas jockeys to ride at the FWD Champions Day race meeting to be conducted at Sha Tin Racecourse on Sunday, 28 April 2019:-

Race Jockey Horse Stated Minimum Riding Weight (lbs)
FWD QEII Cup Hugh Bowman FURORE 124
  Tim Clark DARK DREAM 120
  Masami Matsuoka WIN BRIGHT 110
  James McDonald EMINENT 121
  Oisin Murphy LYS GRACIEUX 119
  Yutaka Take DEIRDRE 112
Chairman’s Sprint Prize Joe Bowditch VIDDORA 119
  Hugh Bowman SANTA ANA LANE 124
  James McDonald ENZO’S LAD 121
  Yutaka Take NAC VENUS 112

These jockeys are permitted to ride in the aforementioned races in accordance with the criteria previously approved by the Racing Committee in respect of the approval for overseas jockeys to ride in principal races in Hong Kong.  

As Visiting Jockeys, the aforementioned riders will be eligible to ride in all races conducted at the Sha Tin race meeting on that day.

Hugh Bowman winning the BMW Hong Kong Derby on Furore, picture Hong Kong Jockey Club